First mentioned in 1142, this ancient village overlooking the Irwell, home of the Kersal Cell and Hall, was described as a most element suburb of Manchester in the mid 19th century.

The moor, from which the famous iconic view of pre industrial Manchester was painted, was the setting for Manchester’s first racecourse and the site of many Chartist rallies.

The area was also the original location for Agecroft Hall,shipped brick by brick to the United States and the Colliery of the same name.

Latterly Kersal was associated with the block of twelve flats, built as part of the 1960’s regeneration of the area,of which eight were demolished before the turn of the century.